water entering bilge after sharp turns

cathole

Reaction score
I'm new to boating. I trailer my 2004 2575 RFS after every time. Its powered by a Mercruizer 6.2l bravo III The previous owner kept it in a slip. I have no reason to assume the bilge takes on water when the boat is still or merely cruising. However, when the tri-toons are cutting hard into turns, there is water entering the bilge. So much so that the distributor occasionally gets wet because the motor sometimes sputters a little. The bilge automatically removes the water and the motor sounds great again in no time. Is it normal for water to enter the bilge after turning? Where could it be coming from? I've not noticed water leaking in while sitting still. Thanks

No, it's not normal for water to be coming into the bilge after turning. I've got 2 suggestions...................First, It has to either be coming from a crack/hole in the engine pod. Next time you go out.......make sure the engine and the engine pod is dry then take it out for a short ride and make a few turns and check again...............Second.........when we first got our I/O we had water in our bilge and couldn't figure out where it was coming from. Found out that there was a leak from the speedometer pick up hose and it was bringing water into the bilge/engine compartment when underway..................Had it replaced.

Also check the pods nuts and bolts (if attached in that manner) and make sure they have not loosened up over time.