Winterizing 2014 tri-toon w/ Yamaha 150 outboard motor

tyjy

Reaction score
So we just put our first pontoon boat w/Yamaha 150 4 cycle in water in June, did the entire oil change, water separator, lower unit maintenance, etc at 16 hours and we're at 35 hours now. Hoping to put on a few more hours before we have to pull the boat in October (but nowhere near getting to 100 hours). We're in Wisconsin and will be storing inside/unheated on our own trailer and yup it DEFinitely will get below freezing! My DH might know what to do to ready for winter, but I don't and I've assumed ownership! Yes, it's MINE! haha (please guys, humor me! but be nice, this is MY first time owning a boat  :unsure:  )

(Basic stuff I know to do is: Clean well, apply 303 protectant to upholstery, remove battery, put in dryer sheets to prevent mice, maybe moth balls under the motor cover, put down a pan of Damp Rid to soak up potential moisture, cover w/mooring cover and additional plastic tarp, and grease the bearings to the trailer)

All the Questions I could think of:

#1: Since the fluids were already changed recently do we still have to change all those items before storing? If not, which ones? 

#2: Do you use up as much gas as possible or keep it full before storing?

#3: Do you put the Stabil in the gas and run the motor at all or just dump some in? (Is "Stabil" the brand you use?) (We already use the Yamalube Ring Free Plus-10 Fuel Additive when refueling)

#4: The toons (yes with original Shark hide application) are stuck with hard yuck build up at water line from docking in water at marina all season (scrubbed one time but not thoroughly as we were beached to do it). Planning to rent a power washer and use blue scotch brite (non scratch) type scrubbers. Is there anything else we should do? What if pads can't scratch that crap off? Do we use soap of any sort? Do we reapply anything to act like Shark hide after we're done?