Honda 60 on 2575 RCW

DeeNDean

Reaction score
Hi folks,

New here and just last week purchased a previously enjoyed 2013 2575 RCW with a Honda 60. My first thought when looking at the boat was "man I'm going to have to re-power this thing". After playing with the boat all weekend it actually is not too bad. Not going to be wake-boarding behind it obviously but we don't do much for water sports anyway. 

My question is at WOT it is at about 1500 RPM and 19 mph with two people on board. The RPM's seem low to me but I am new to outboards (also have a Formula 260 hp IO) and don't know if the prop is sized correctly or not. 

Any thoughts or advice?

Thanks, Dean

You're doing well at 19 mph with a 60 pushing a 2575, but there's no way your tach is reading correctly. Was that a typo? A true 1500 rpm should have you doing less than 5 mph.

I agree, that RPM is incorrect.

You're doing well at 19 mph with a 60 pushing a 2575, but there's no way your tach is reading correctly. Was that a typo? A true 1500 rpm should have you doing less than 5 mph.
That is what I thought. No typo. The motor sounds about right at WOT. Going to have to look into that but I agree, we were surprised how well that little motor did pushing such a large platform.

Otherwise absolutely love the comfort and quality of the boat! Even if we end up re-powering later on it's going to be a great addition to our toy's....

There may be a switch on the back of the tachometer than sets up the different # of cylinders and/or 2 stroke/4 stroke.  It may need resetting.
                I will check that out! Thanks

Dean

There may be a switch on the back of the tachometer than sets up the different # of cylinders and/or 2 stroke/4 stroke.  It may need resetting.
YAHTZEE! Just enough daylight left and with a flashlight I crawled under the helm and changed the tach settings. It is now reading 5500 RPM exactly at WOT. So I would venture to say it's propped correctly.