Audiophobe

Reaction score
Hi all,
I just moved to a lake house and have 0 experience with boats but def am buying one. I wanted to buy a used, inexpensive and reliable pontoon, especially to start.
One of my neighbors works at a local marina (who i trust) and found a 2013 Bennington 20 SLX with a 70hp Yamaha with 140 hours.
It's been tuned and gone through with all necessary repairs, new radio and speakers, and cosmetics.
It looks like a great starter boat with what i think (I'm a complete amateur) is a great price.
Does this seem like a good newbie boat?
What should I be looking out for?
What options are must haves?
Thanks

Welcome to our group! Congratulations on the lake house and looking ahead to boat ownership. How exciting!!!

I think in part to answer your question, it might be helpful to understand how you intend to use it: fishing, socializing, watersports, hanging out at a sand bar or tied off with other boats and friends, solo or partnered outings or hosting a huge group regularly, adults or family with kids, etc?

Additionally, to provide any feedback specifically on the 2013 you are looking at, it would be helpful to know what options it already has on it. That would help to advise if it’s a good starter boat. Any pictures of the 2013 you’re looking at? I heard they can represent a 1,000 words…grin.

In the end, if it’s in great shape, and at a good price, then it easily could be a great starter boat - depending on what you want to be able to do with it. If a normal bi-toon 20SLX, it should be good for cruising around a lake or river, fishing, hanging out on the water, etc. Probably best in less volatile bodies of water, or predominately calmer bodies of water vs larger and rough bodies of water