Stand alone canopy

twestrope

Reaction score
I’m new to boating. We just bought a Summer home in MI. It’s on a small lake. I just bought a used 22’ pontoon, under 3,000 Lbs. I‘m getting quotes for a dock and boat lift. Area dealers are slow to give me estimates. One dealer gave me a quote of $18,000 installed for a Max Dock lift. Several dealers have mentioned an option is a stand alone canopy, with no lift . It’s termed as a ”free standing lift, water carport”. Cost is $4,000. Unfortunately I’m still in AZ so haven’t been able to see these. Has anyone had experience with something like this? I’m cautious that this seems like a money saver but may not be a good option for the long run and I’ll end up going with a lift and canopy.

Last edited:
In Northern Mi , my dealer can't even any lifts.
If it helps with your decision , your toons will get a slime build up on them when left in the silp all season. I try to wipe mine down once a week at the sand bar

I’m new to boating. We just bought a Summer home in MI. It’s on a small lake. I just bought a used 22’ pontoon, under 3,000 Lbs. I‘m getting quotes for a dock and boat lift. Area dealers are slow to give me estimates. One dealer gave me a quote of $18,000 installed for a Max Dock lift. Several dealers have mentioned an option is a stand alone canopy, with no lift . It’s termed as a ”free standing lift, water carport”. Cost is $4,000. Unfortunately I’m still in AZ so haven’t been able to see these. Has anyone had experience with something like this? I’m cautious that this seems like a money saver but may not be a good option for the long run and I’ll end up going with a lift and canopy.
Welcome to the forum and to Bennington. Congratulations! As a fellow Michigander, what lake are you on? We live in mid-Michigan, but have a lake house and live part time at it, on Houghton Lake.

As to your inquiry: