Battery died, now cranks and won't start

Michael Nowak

Reaction score
Help! First timer here.  My Bennington ran fine and the battery died because I left the key on. I jump started it with a portable jump starter and it fired up and started immediately.  I drove it five minutes to get it home and shut it off.  About four hours later I went to start it again and the battery was still dead.  I put the same portable jump starter on it and it cranks over perfectly, but it won't fire at all.  The primer bulb is firm. Any ideas?

Do you have the safety connected?

I'm not a mechanic by trade, but it could be that with your battery going down so fast, you may have enough to turn over the motor, but not enough to actually crank it. Try charging your battery rather than just jumping it off. 

On another note, since it's a 2011, have you checked to see the contents of the gas tank? You don't know what fuel has been used in it, and it might have lots of water in it. Check the fuel filters. Without proper maintenance, those will clog up on you, and prevent cranking/running. 

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks.  Going to get a charger on it and see if it fires after the battery is fully charged.  With the tank, wouldn't there be some signs in performance prior or even a little attempt to fire when turning it over if it was water or a clog?

Is it the original battery ? 

If you take the cowling off your motor, you will find a fuse that controls the starting function, check that fuse, if you are looking at the motor from the boat the fuse should be on the upper left.

Did you get any notification from the dealer that sold it to you, that they had gone through it to be sure it was up to par? You mentioned firing, so have you pulled the plugs to see if they are in good shape?