First outing

KLM

Reaction score
Took my new benny out last week. 2275 gcw with sps yammy 150. 3/4 fuel tank with myself only. Top gps speed is 38mph at WOT 6000rpm. Cursing at 3000rpm at around 16mph. Does these numbers look ok? I have the reliance prop. Don't know the pitch though.

Also noticed the trim gauage don't match up the actual trim level. Like 3/4 down on gauage but the motor is actually all the way down.

I am still learning how to trim the best.

Otherwise it was good and fun.

Congratulations

KLM 

Congrats! Just curious What hole is your motor mounted in? 

My boat is pretty close to yours. I'm pushed by a 200, but I have a strong hunch my boat is several hundred pounds heavier.

A couple of suggestions.

-Your dealer should be able to make some minor calibration adjustments to the trim gauge for you. 

-Your best trim gauge is your ear. It's way better than the needle. I find that, when cruising, I very frequently turn my head so my ear is toward the engine, cover the other ear which is now in to the wind, and just instinctively listen to the motor. I don't know how to use words to describe how the motor sounds when it's trimmed most efficiently, but there is definitely a sound. The RPM's are not jumpy at all. The boat is as on-plane is it can be which makes the sound of the water against the pontoons go way down. There is a very distinct sound when the prop starts to pull air down from the surface...you don't want that. 

-The most efficient that my motor runs, is at about 3800 and 22mph. If I am covering long distances, that's my sweet spot. Yours will likely be similar in RPM...but maybe 20ish mph. 

- When I cruise for greatest comfort instead of greatest efficiency, I don't plane and I most enjoy 1100rpm with the motor trimmed 1/4 on the gauge (that's where my prop is parallel to the surface of the water.