First time anchoring and... I broke it!

bcpnick

Nick
Reaction score
I'm sure that telling this story might come with some people thinking I'm an idiot, but I'm new to this boating thing, so I can take it. I had a little experience today that in retrospect, I probably should have handled differently, but it was a good learning experience and I came out of it very impressed with how solid my Bennington is. 

We took some friends out on the lake today just to do a little fishing, have some lunch and get them acquainted with the boat as they are coming on a 5 day camping trip out of it later this month. Aside from anchoring to the beach on previous trips, I'd never actually used my anchor for what it was for yet. So today I decided was a good time to try it out. First attempt we dropped it in 12 feet of water. It worked like a charm and set right away. Soon we realized the fish weren't interested and decided to move to a different area of the lake.

This time, the water was about 45 feet deep. I only had 200 feet of rope and it was pretty windy out. I knew I needed a pretty good scope for that but I probably only let out about 130 feet of line (I still need to mark mine). Anyway, it slipped a bit, but then it set and we stayed put for a while. When it was time to leave, I started pulling the boat over the anchor and then tried to pull the anchor up but it wasn't happening. Me and my buddy tried together and still not budging. We thought that maybe we just needed to pull it from the opposite direction it set, so we decided to try to use the motor to pull it. After a little work, we got it to the other side. I decided to move the rope from the tip of the pontoon to the stern cleat because the wind was making it tricky to get in position. I know that put the rope close to the prop but I had my buddy stay back there and give me an arm where it was so it never got close.