Reaction score
562765_10151087677853887_1536312280_n.jpg

I am a novice boater and need some advice. First the specs:

2012 2274 GL, 2 logs w/o strakes

Yamaha F115 w/13x15 aluminum 3 blade

33gal tank, 3/4 full

35 lbs of gear stowed mostly bow to midship

2 adults, 1 toddler

1.) When my novice eyes look at the boat sitting in the water, it looks odd with the stern sitting so low. Is this the normal way the boat should sit?

2.) Our first long cruise was yesterday with very light winds & both biminis up. I hit 18mph (GPS) around 3600-3700rpm and it stayed at this speed no matter how much more throttle I gave it. I went up to 5400rpm and was still at 18mph going either into or against the wind. To me this is really odd. I know I don't have a speed demon, but hitting top speed at 3600rpm and no change with additional throttle seems really slow with a light load. I cringe at what I will hit with our normal party of 4 adults, 3 kids, and all our gear.

We keep it in the water at the marina and after 3 weeks there is a little algae growth on the tubes. I wouldn't think that would put a lot of drag at this point, but what do I know.

All opinions on 1 & 2 are appreciated!

What are you using to measure speed? Boat speedos are known to be incorrect. You need to measure with gps and if you have a portable one from a car it will work. Build-up on the logs will slow you down also.A 2 log toon will sit lower in the stern than a 3 log.

Last edited by a moderator:
That is some pretty murky water your in. I bet the buildup is moreso than you realize. Clean tube will bump the speed a fair amount. If you can go swimming take a couple of "magic erasers" with you in the water and clean the tubes up with those. make sure you get the ones without soap imbedded in them. I go over mine one a month and I'm in very clean water.