Jumpstart question

Trovatore

Reaction score
Hi, everyone -

I'm about to use my 2018 22 SSRX again after 9-months of complete inactivity.

I got a good jump starter should I need it...but I'm new to jump starting on a boat.

My very generic Bennington manual says I've got a negative ground electrical system...and the instructions that came with the jump starter say this means I need to connect the positive cable on the jump starter to the positive terminal on the battery, and then connect the negative jump starter cable to the chassis, or other metal hunk of the boat.

With cars, I haven't connected like that for a jump start since I used my dad's 1966 Plymouth Valiant, haha!

I checked Youtube vids, and saw many examples of people jump starting their boats, and ALL used what I would call the 'standard method' - connecting both jump starter cables to both terminals on the battery, just like I've done many times on (modern) cars.

Just curious for your thoughts. Again, my boat is a 2018 SSRX.

Thanks in advance!

The final jumper connection can give a spark because you've completed the circuit. You don't want that spark to be near the battery since batteries can give off hydrogen gas. Which goes boom.

Blow on the battery 10 times before you hook it up. Let us know what your wife says when she sees you doing that.

Got it, thanks.

I do know that there is a power switch on the jump starter that is only turned on when both clamps are on the terminals. The power switch is turned off prior to removing the clips...but even with that, the instructions tell you which clamp to disconnect first, so the power switch doesn't seem to be the final word in staying safe.

Thanks again!

Lawyers.