new boat have a couple questions.

kshotwell43

Reaction score
I just bought a 2574gcw with a 250 verado. The boat with 7 people in it runs about 41-42mph and with 2 people half tank ran 45mph. When I'm trimming the motor up anything past 1 on the trim gauge the boat slows down and only revs to about 5800-6000 tops. It has an interia prop on it currently. It just seems like I'm not even trimming the motor up enough but the boat falls over. Boat has the ESP Package on it. I'm new to outboards any help is appreciated.

I just bought a 2574gcw with a 250 verado. The boat with 7 people in it runs about 41-42mph and with 2 people half tank ran 45mph. When I'm trimming the motor up anything past 1 on the trim gauge the boat slows down and only revs to about 5800-6000 tops. It has an interia prop on it currently. It just seems like I'm not even trimming the motor up enough but the boat falls over. Boat has the ESP Package on it. I'm new to outboards any help is appreciated.
Congrats and welcome!

It's a bit hard to say as it seems like the calibration on these is different from engine to engine. Your "1" might be my "5" or "6". Even with a 250, pontoons are not as responsive to trim as a V-hull I/O fiberglass boat would be. The ideal is for the motor to most efficient when the cav plate is about level or slightly trimmed up. After that you're going to lose speed (i.e. forward thrust) rather quickly. 

I was hoping to see 51-52 out of this boat with cruising speeds in the low 40s. Looks like I'm going to have to do a couple things to get there. Where should I start? Cavitation plate adjustment?

You'd probably need a 350 to consistently hit 51-52 in a 25' G/R/Q RCW. They're fairly heavy boats in this option trim.