New boat owner

Great Dane

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I will be taking delivery of our new 2014 Bennington 22 SSX with a new 2012 60 hp Mercury Bigfoot outboard in a couple weeks, VERY excited for this summer! But I will be a completely new boat Capitan, never owed one before. I've always been a "dive in and swim" kinda guy, so I'm sure I will figure things out...But I was wondering if there might be any worthwhile advice that some of you seasoned veterans could pass on to me before we hit the lakes this summer? Loading, unloading, trailering, operating, I'm new to it all!  Be gentle!

You'll get a ton of 'gentle' on this board. We've all been there. 

There's no such thing as a stupid question. Ask 'em all...we're a helpful bunch.

Highly recommend a US Power Squadron class first and foremost. Some sort of safe-boating starter class. Power Squadron is the most popular and most common.

After that - do you by chance know anyone who boats, that can help you launch and recover the boat a couple of times...show you hands-on, how to do it? That's highly recommended as well. It's not hard to learn. It's hard to teach yourself though. If you just go for the school of hard-knocks, you'll possibly get a few dings in the process.

Congrats and welcome aboard!

Great Dane,

Congratulations & Welcome To An Amazing Lifestyle

Give us more info 

Your location "The Land of 10,000 Lakes" 

May indicate you are Lake Front 

Which will take away some of the stress of trailering the boat 

107175344.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Another from the great state of Minnesota!  Congrats and welcome to the forum.

I had a great time looking through all the posts when I joined.  There is a ton of information about these boats and boating in general in the forum. 

Where in the state do you call home?

Mark