Trailer hub spitting grease

bcpnick

Nick
Reaction score
I've been trying to talk to my dealer to figure out what this is and how to deal with it, but as usual, they are ignoring me. Maybe you guys can help. One of the hubs on my 4 month old trailer is spitting out grease. Not a lot, but enough that I'm concerned. It doesn't appear to be missing any parts. Other than the grease it looks just like all the other hubs. I'm taking the boat out to Powell again next week and I don't want to end up broken down on the side of the road during the 300 mile drive to the lake. Can anyone shed some light on this problem? I am not a very mechanical kind of guy so this might be really basic. 

IMG_0673.jpg

IMG_0674.jpg

It can be normal if it had too much grease in it from the get go but just to make sure I would jack up each side and check the hubs to see if the bearing is loose by pulling and pushing on top and bottom to see if deflection feels excessive from one to another.  Also I would check to see if that brake is dragging a bit, this can cause excessive heat which causes the grease to become more fluid like and seep out like that as well. I have bearing buddies and they are especially prone to this if greased too much too often, I have them on my trailer and it is not uncommon to see grease on all 4 wheels like you have after long hot trips.

Also while it is up spin each one to see if it makes noise or feels rough like a bearing is failing this will get things hot and boil the grease out too.

If things feel ok I wouldn't worry about it.

Last edited by a moderator:
+1 on jacking it up and checking the hubs.

Check it out as stated above, BUT, I would invest in a spare bearing set (greased up)  and keep in a container. Maybe even have a complete hub. Nothing like a failed bearing along the road and no spares. They are pretty cheap insurance.

On a trailer, I think they are almost as important to have a spare set as having a spare tire.