Pontoon Newbie needs some guidance re: purchase

Mark649

Reaction score
Good morning everyone. I am a newbie to pontoon boats but need some guidance. I currently own a high performance Powerquest 28 ft boat with a 502 that will run approx. 65. I would very much like to have the ability to run the same top end speed so I am looking for some suggestions regarding pontoon boats. Who is the main player and the Ferrari or Porsche of the pontoon boat business

Many thanks

Mark

The drag from the toons makes that speed from a production boat out of reach.  The big Benningtons with the 8.2L are over 50 MPH.  There are some boats with 2-300 O/B's on the market.  I did see a blown 502 at a boat show 3 years ago and he claimed high 50 MPH.  

There are several examples on youtube.  Here's a couple.

Other than twin 300's with a Harris or Premier, Playcraft is about the only one doing big block pontoons hitting those kind of speeds. Styling and finish, on the other hand, is certainly a matter of taste, but I just don't like the 80's Baja sort of look on a modern pontoon. Bennington is all over that and there really aren't any better that I'm aware of.

Try the Bennington Stancraft if you want beauty

http://club.benningtonmarine.com/index.php?/gallery/image/2529-bennington-q-stancraft/

I read that it's powered by a single stock Evinrude Etec 250HO.

I don't believe everything on the net but the YouTube video shows full interior, minus Bimini.

I read that it's powered by a single stock Evinrude Etec 250HO.

I don't believe everything on the net but the YouTube video shows full interior, minus Bimini.
Back when I saw that I really had to wonder how they did it, but the radar gun doesn't lie, it must be legit.

I drove a similar one with a Yamaha 250SHO before I bought my Benny. The owner of the dealership had it tweaked to the max for speed, and we saw right around 50. Seriously, how could they pick up 16mph, even with a bare deck I don't know???