2004 Bennigton tri toon performance propped wrong?

benniglug

Reaction score
I recently got a new to me 2004 2250RL tri-toon with lifting strakes on all the toons, and a 150 honda on it. I was expecting to be able to do ~ 35 mph - 37 MPH based on what I have been reading here. Best I can do is 30-32 MPH running about 1/8 trim at ~ 5000 RPM. The propeller is a powertech stainless 4 blade. Hard to read the laser etched numbers, but I saw a 20P on the prop so I am thinking a 20 pitch. Not sure on diameter. I am thinking this is over propped. Also mounting hole is #1 (i.e. engine mounted in lowest position)

I want to use this for some water sports / tubing (minimize venilation in a turn) , and I am hoping I can get ~33 with a moderate load and 35 - 37MPH lightly loaded.

Is this achievable? - can someone help me out?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
seems slow. My 2013 22 sslx with two toons w/strakes will do 34 with the wife, dog and I and we have a 115. I'm not a prop expert by any means but is your peak rpm 5000?

Yep, rpm's are too low, and that sounds like a lot of pitch.

I'm thinking Carl may be able to help here, you set up is similar to his. Let's see what he has to say..........

I get ~5000 rpm with trim to where it seems like it is biting good, if I trim up more i can get 5500 but I actually slow down. Speed is GPS measured. Pulling a Tube with 3 kids on tube, and 2 adults + 2 kids on the toon it will run ~4500 rpm, and ~27 MPH.