Help???... New 2015 2075GL top speed 20mph

Fordie

Reaction score
I am new to the pontoon world. I recently purchased a 2075GL with a 115 Yamaha. My prop is 13p. Having issues over 4k rpms. Prop will spoil up to 5900 rpms, but gain speed over 20mph. Anyone having the same issues? Sometimes rpms will just sky rocket when power is applied over 4k and the boat seems to lose traction, for lack of a better word.

I have a 2013 2075 GL with a 50 Merc. I get 19 on the GPS. two people full tank and other essentials, If your over revving drop the motor angle or it maybe the motor is set too high on the transom. If your getting only 20 I'm glad I didn't go for the bigger bucks. We don't tow so had no need for a larger motor

The losing traction comment makes me think you have the engine trimmed to high, or the engine was mounted to high. Check your trim first.

Steve

Last edited by a moderator:
Will do guys thanks. We tried a 17p yesterday at the marina. Was fine with no load. 24 mph and 5900 rpms. They full boat with a tube, 14mph, oh yeah dogged out bad. Any opinions on pitch?

Update: engine set at the lowest position, trimmed all the way down. Changed a few props today.

3 adults 2 kids Bimini up.

13.75x15p= 5200 rpms 22 mph

14x13p=. 5900 rpms 20 mph but has a lot more guts. Problem is anything over 4800 does not increase speed, just sits at 20mph

Tried the trim all over, all way down still 5900, and I cannot trim up past about 5/8 at WOT.

How are you measuring speed?

Sounds like you are not planing. You have a slow hull...

Last edited by a moderator:
Trim doesn't help most two toon boats that much.  I used to run my engine's anticavitation plate parallel to the bottom of my toons.  That's where I'd have it when testing props.

When you're having the engine spin up over 4000 rpms, it's prop ventilation.  What brand of propellers are you using?  They're not all created equal, even though the prices of aluminum props are pretty much the same.