GPS and Wavve Question

Glava2876

Reaction score
I'm a newbie. We have a family camp pontoon, that I use maybe 2x -3x a year.
My wife and I decided to purchase our own and ordered a 2021 LFB23, which is the new ID for the SXP Fastback?
No pictures yet, since we scheduled a May 2021 delivery.
We are also getting a place on the St Lawrence, near Ogdensburg NY and will have more questions, regarding dock set ups etc., but right now I'm looking at the navigation.
We get a Garmin Striker 4 fish/depth finder with GPS, but looking around I also found the Wavve app.
It looks great for $20.00/ year -would you recommend getting it too?
Thanks,
Glen

Hi Glen -

I don’t live up your way but have fished the St Lawrence many times. I know for me I would want a real good base set of maps given all of the rocks and other hazards on the river there. Not to mention certain sections are just plain confusing given all the islands especially in low light conditions or fog.

Have you considered opting out of the Striker and upgrading to a true chartplotter? And if you don’t want to spend a ton, then maybe spend a little more on a Garmin Echomap44 which does have the charts and appears to have a similar profile to the Striker and may fit in the same molded area? The advantage there is with the Echomap you can then download ActiveCaptain for your iPhone or iPad and have all of your base maps synched. I use mine to chart routes and get estimated trip data for distance and fuel considerations.

I’m sure the free or low cost nav apps are adequate, but just throwing out another option. You can see from my phone screenshot that the level of detail is quite good. There is also a lot of information on marinas, mooring locations, hazards et

Good luck!

82029E22-58E2-45B9-9A26-D96D7D471CC7.jpeg

You might also think about upgrading to SIMRAD from factory. A little salty, but cheaper than toon repairs after hitting a rock, plus 10 year warranty to boot!