No PADS here. Ever. (Finally!)

AuthorizedUser

Reaction score
OK, so a few of you know me... I recently ordered a 20SLG pontoon with a 90 Yamaha VMAX of which I will take delivery when it arrives this winter. I will begin boating in the spring on beautiful Canandaigua Lake, NY. Even though I grew up in Annapolis and had many boats in my youth, this will be my first boat in 35 years, so basically I'm a newbie (not really; I was super experienced as a teen and remember so much). This forum has been a blessing and a curse for me. Everyone is very nice and helpful, and I've learned so much. However, I've spent too much time on this forum. For the majority of the threads that I've read where a poster is inquiring about a new build, owners/members are always recommending bigger boats and bigger motors. Three logs. Lifting strakes. Simrads. Extended platforms. The list is endless as so are the expenses (it's so easy to spend other people's money!). All very logical and polite recommendations based on personal experience from all of you awesome owners.

But something horrible happened to me while reading the threads. I began to get disappointed in the boat I purchased before I even stepped foot in it. My Bennington won't have three logs. No lifting strakes. No monster motor (or motors). No Q Series. Seemingly everything that every other owner has... I won't have. For weeks I lamented my purchase, wished I could have expanded my budget, and tried to finagle how I could be someone like (you) who has something better than me. How messed up is that?